Mar 18, 2013 10:24 PM by Andrew Masuda

Area athletes score All-CIF honors

Nine Central Coast athletes earned All-CIF First Team honors on Monday for winter sports. Seven more soccer players earned All-CIF Second Team honors, while ten more scored Third Team recognition.

Arroyo Grande High girls water polo players Alexis Elias and goalie Hannah Wadlow earned All-CIF First Team honors in Division 3. Elias led the Eagles with 68 goals to go with 12 assists and 35 steals for the 24-8 Eagles. Arroyo Grande extended its league winning streak to 100 games and won its tenth consecutive league title. Wadlow tallied 192 saves and posted a 59 percent save percentage.

After leading the Conquistadores to the CIF title game and Regional semifinals, Cabrillo High's Jamie Miller and Marissa Reyna earned All-CIF First Team honors in Division 5. Miller scored 7 goals to go with 8 assists, while Reyna scored 6 times and tallied 9 assists. Santa Ynez High's Kat Rocha also earned a spot on the First Team. She scored 16 goals and dished out 13 assists for the Los Padres League champion Pirates. Cabrillo's Brianna Farley and Nipomo's Cristina Ozzimo were Second Team picks. Athena Nava of Cabrillo, Denise Belmontes of Nipomo and Santa Ynez High's Alyssa Beamer are Third Team selections.

In Division 3 girls soccer, AG's Hannah Chandless and Righetti's Michaela Olney are All CIF First Team selections. Olney, a sophomore, scored 18 goals and had 14 assists for the Warriors. Chandless, the Eagles' star midfielder, was also named the Pac 7 League's MVP.

The Eagles' Mallory Flatebo (19 goals) and Nadine Reed (21 goals), as well as Righetti's Itzy Pinon (16 goals) were Second Team picks for Division 3. Summer Soriano, Taylor Duguran and Hannah Hurd were All-CIF Third Team selections.

In boys soccer, Righetti High's Jorge Guzman was named to the Division 5 First Team. The sophomore scored 19 goals and had 6 assists for the Pac 7 champion Warriors.

Righetti's Francisco Zepeda landed on the Second Team, while Edwin Franco and Gustav Jarpehag are Third Team selections in D5.

Nipomo High senior Caleb Doane, who scored 13 goals to go with 111 assists, was the only local player named to the Division 3 First Team. Nipomo's Jesus Valdez earned a spot on the Second Team, while the Titans' Jonathan Gomez and sophomore Aaron Robles earned Third Team honors.

The CIF awards for boys and girls basketball won't come out for another week or two.



Offensive or inappropriate comments are subject to removal. To report a comment, please e-mail us at feedback@ksby.com, and include the name of the story and information on the comment.

Thank you! KSBY.com

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4