Nov 19, 2012 1:17 PM by Andrew Masuda

Cal Poly's Tim Walsh named finalist for FCS Coach of the Year award

Cal Poly head football coach Tim Walsh is a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Award, which is presented by The Sports Network to the FCS Coach of the Year. The award is named after the longtime Grambling State coach who retired in 1997 as college football's all-time winningest coach with a record of 408-164-15 over 57 seasons.

Walsh is one of 20 finalists. He has led the Mustangs to a share of the Big Sky Conference title and 9-2 regular season. The Mustangs opened the season with seven straight wins, including one over FBS level Wyoming.

Walsh is 26-18 in four seasons at Cal Poly as the Mustangs head into the FCS playoff for the first time since 2008 and third time in program history.

Cal Poly earned a first-round bye and will play in the second round against Sam Houston State (8-3) on Saturday, Dec. 1. Kickoff at at Elliott T. Bowers Stadium in Huntsville, Texas, is set for 1 p.m. PST.

Walsh, who led Cal Poly to a Great West crown in 2011, was a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Award (FCS Coach of the Year) in 1999 when Portland State went 8-3.

A panel of about 160 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will select the Robinson Award winner. Voting will reflect only the regular season and conclude before the FCS playoffs begin Saturday. The winner will be announced on Dec. 17 at the FCS Awards Banquet and Presentation in Philadelphia.



Offensive or inappropriate comments are subject to removal. To report a comment, please e-mail us at feedback@ksby.com, and include the name of the story and information on the comment.

Thank you! KSBY.com

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4