Dec 17, 2012 7:18 PM by Andrew Masuda

Cal Poly's Walsh finishes fourth in FCS Coach of the Year voting

Cal Poly football head coach Tim Walsh finished fourth in the voting for the 2012 Eddie Robinson Award for FCS coach of the Year on Monday.

A national panel of sports information and media directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries selected the 26th annual award.

Walsh received 6 first place votes, 13 second place votes, 10 third place votes, 15 votes for fourth place and 11 for fifth place. He earned a total of 153 points.

North Dakota State's Craig Bohl received 42 first place votes to finish with 364 points.

In his fourth year at Cal Poly, Walsh guided the Mustangs to an 9-3 record, top 15 national ranking and a share of the Big Sky Conference title. The Mustangs earned a spot in the FCS playoffs for the third time in program history and the first time since 2008.

Cal Poly lost by 18-16 at San Houston State in the second round of the FCS playoffs. The Bearkats have advanced to the FCS title game for the second-straight year. Sam Houston State faces Bohl and defending national champion North Dakota State.

Walsh is 26-19 in four seasons at the helm of the Mustangs, including three winning campaigns.

He was a finalist for the award in 1999 with Portland State.



Offensive or inappropriate comments are subject to removal. To report a comment, please e-mail us at feedback@ksby.com, and include the name of the story and information on the comment.

Thank you! KSBY.com

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4