May 3, 2013 2:26 AM by Andrew Masuda

Santa Ynez boys, Nipomo girls win LPAL track and field titles

The Nipomo High girls captured their second outright title in the last three years, while the Santa Ynez boys track and field team won the outright crown on Thursday on its home track during the Los Padres League Track and Field Finals.

The Santa Ynez boys were led by Jacob Carey, who won three events. He won the 800 (2:01.01), edged Morro Bay's Austin Lay by .87 of a second in the mile (4:33.78) and edged Lay by .62 of a second in the 3,200 (10:07.28). Alec Hanna won the 100 meter dash in 11.26 seconds for the Pirates. Leonardo Valdez took the 400 with a time of 50.60 for the Pirates, while Santa Ynez high's Dane Underwood won the discus throw by 17 feet with a toss of 168 feet, 6.5 inches.

Lompoc High's Nikko Hayes swept in the hurdle events winning the 110 in 14.64 seconds and the 300 in 39.41 seconds. Morro Bay's Damen Davies took the 200 in 22.03 seconds and the Pirates' Billy Vedrin took the high jump with a top clearance of 6 feet. Cabrillo's Steven French won the pole vault by clearing 13 feet, 6 inches. Nipomo High's Kendrick Keszler won the long jump with a top mark of 20 feet, 7.5 inches, Rafael Arellano of Lompoc won the triple jump with a leap of 42-11 and Santa Maria's Jorge Delgadillo wonthe shot put with a top throw of 51 feet, 1 inch.

The Santa Ynez boys, who went undefeated in league duals, defeated second place Lompoc 132.75 to 96.25 on Thursday.

The Nipomo girls were powered by distance runner Kyra Meko, who won the mile (5:07.40) and the two mile (12:04.30). The Titans' Allie Molesky won the 100 meter hurdles in 16.85 secondsand Paige Waymire won the high jump at 5 feet. Taylor Nevitt swept the throwing events for the Titans. She won the shot put (39-5) and the discus by 15 feet (124-9.5).

Lompoc sprinter Chantel Dunson doubled taking the 100 meter dash (12.87 seconds) and the 200 (27.19). Santa Maria's Rosiele Angkahan pulled off the upset in the 400 meter dash with a time of 60.96 seconds, while Morro Bay's Allie Sultaitis took the 800 crown in 2:20.46. Sierra Emrick won the pole vault for Morro Bay by clearing 9-6 on fewer attempts. Cabrillo's Adriana Covarrubias won the 300 hurdles in 48.06 seconds, while the Lady Conqs Rebeka Miranda four-peated in the long jump (16-9) and in the triple jump (37 feet).

The Lady Titans edged Lompoc 105.5 to 99.5 on Thursday to secure the outright championship.



Offensive or inappropriate comments are subject to removal. To report a comment, please e-mail us at feedback@ksby.com, and include the name of the story and information on the comment.

Thank you! KSBY.com

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4