Apr 18, 2013 1:36 AM by Andrew Masuda

SLO County All-Stars ready to roll in weekend battle with Northern SB County

Preparations are underway for the 23rd annual Central Coast All-Star Basketball Spectacular. Each year, the event sponsored by the Santa Maria Valley Evening Kiwanis Club pits the top graduating seniors from San Luis Obispo County high schools against the best from Northern Santa Barbara County schools.

The girls teams play at 5pm on Saturday at Allan Hancock College, while the boys battle afterward around 7 pm. The event also features 3-point shooting and slam dunk contests.

The San Luis Obispo County girls practiced for the second time this week on Wednesday night at Morro Bay High. Longtime coach Cary Nerelli and San Luis Obispo head coach Dan Monroe will coach the SLO County girls. The team features Cal Poly bound Hannah Gilbert out of Morro Bay and Mary Kate Evans out of Atsacadero. Sonoma State recruit Molly Donovan, San Luis Obispo High's Erica Chandler and Christine Freberg are some of the other area stars on the squad.

"To have one more chance to play with all these high schools girls I'm really excited. It's kind of the ending to our season and the whole league as a whole. So it should be a lot of fun," said Donovan, the Paso Robles star who recently verbally committed to play at Sonoma State.

The game is a second chance for Evans, who missed most of her senior year with a foot injury. "I was so excited for the game, getting ready everyday and then to play with this group of girls is amazing, to play against them and then coming together after all this time is so cool." said Evans, who added she was 100 percent healthy.

The rosters for the four teams are listed below.

Tess Latimer, Nipomo
Christine Freberg, SLO
Jackie Caraveo, Paso Robles
Nicki Bloom, Morro Bay
Peyton Maas, Nipomo
Erica Chandler, SLO
Jerrica Crosby, Morro Bay
Molly Donovan, Paso Robles
Mary Kate Evans, Atascadero
Hannah Gilbert, Morro Bay

Amy Ornelas, Righetti
Nicole DeLa Guerra, Pioneer Valley
Kaitlin Tilley, Orcutt Academy
Ali Rodriguez, Pioneer Valley
Mariah Gonzalez, PV
Christine Aguilar, PV
Vanessa Galvez, Righetti
Tatiana Dunlap, St. Joseph
Chloe Vangansberg, Cabrillo
Amani White, St. Joseph
Valeria Luque, Righetti

Andy Garretson, Templeton
Jackson Wheeler, Templeton
Alex Elterman, Templeton
David Thoreson, SLO
Kaileb Mendez, Nipomo
Andy Rowley, Mission Prep
Connor Woolpert, Mission Prep
Brady Youngquist, Atascadero
JV Garret, Atascadero
Matt Willkomm, Arroyo Grande
Rudy Binkele, Paso Robles

Isaac Murillo, St. Joseph
Devon Brock, Santa Maria
Marcus McMorris, Righetti
Michael Woodard, Cabrillo
Josh West, Cabrillo
Ralphie Arellan, Lompoc
Drew Johnson, Pioneer Valley
Case Bruton, St. Joseph
Karl Fredrickson, Santa Ynez
Luciano Lopez, Lompoc



Offensive or inappropriate comments are subject to removal. To report a comment, please e-mail us at feedback@ksby.com, and include the name of the story and information on the comment.

Thank you! KSBY.com

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4