_Continuous News

Jul 8, 2014 3:42 PM by Jeanette Trompeter

SLO county wine industry honors its leaders wtih annual honors

Some San Luis Obispo County wine growers and producers have reason to be proud today. They've been named by their peers as the leaders of the industry locally.

Each year, members of the county's wine industry come together to honor members for their passion, dedication, stewardship, innovation and vision demonstrated in the wine community.

The 2014 San Luis Obispo County Wine Industry Awards go to:

-Wine Industry Persons of the Year, Tobin James, Claire Silver and Lance Silver, Tobin James Cellars.

-Winemaker of he Year, Stephen Dooley, Stephen Ross Wine Cellars.

-Wine grape Grower of the Year, Simon Graves, Treasury Wine Estates, The Americas.

The Paso Robles Wine Country Alliance in partnership with the San Luis Obispo Wine Country Association, the Independent Grape Growers of the Paso Robles Area, The Vineyard Team and past award recipients worked together to identify the 2014 honorees. Upon nomination, each recipient was voted on by their peers for their leadership and accomplishments in California's third largest wine region, San Luis Obispo County.

"The awards celebrate these leaders' hard work and dedication to elevate the quality of the San Luis Obispo County wine region," said Jennifer Porter, Executive Director of the Paso Robles Wine Country Alliance. "Honoring these five individuals recognizes their contributions as innovators and industry stewards."

The industry will come together to celebrate the 2014 winners at the San Luis Obispo County Wine Industry Awards event on Friday, July 18. The event begins at 5:30 p.m. within the Mission Square at the Mid-State Fair and concludes at 6:30 p.m. You are welcome to attend with your paid admission to the California Mid-State Fair.

Click here for more information.

For more information on Wine Industry Persons of the Year Tobin James, Claire Silver, Lance Silver (Tobin James Cellars) click here.

For more information on Winemaker of the Year Stephen R. Dooley (Stephen Ross Wine Cellars) click here.

For more information on Winegrape Grower of the Year Simon Graves (Treasury Wine Estates, The Americas) click here.



Offensive or inappropriate comments are subject to removal. To report a comment, please e-mail us at feedback@ksby.com, and include the name of the story and information on the comment.

Thank you! KSBY.com

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4